top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMagnus

The catalyst

~1449

I found something amazing today! Our anchor snagged the corner of an old strongbox! It was so heavy that father had to help me haul it in. The seal on it was intact so father said to wait for the representative from the temple to open it. Of course, I was far too excited for that. It could take days for the man to arrive. Days!

I waited until father we reached home and father was busy with the firewood to try picking the lock. I was disappointed at how easy it was. The tumbler was so corroded that it simply fell out as soon as I touched it. All I had to do was turn the catch with my knife and the chest popped open. Some kind of jellied oil began to melt all over the sides of the chest and floor as soon as the lid was open. Inside the mess was a single metal vial with clasped cork.

I thought maybe it was some kind of potion, but no! As soon as I popped the cork, the vial rocketed out of my hand leaving a trail of blue smoke! It shot into the kitchen and banged around inside the empty kettle and then went straight up the chimney.

I thought that I was going to be in only a little bit of trouble… and then father came through the door with the empty vial in one hand and a huge lump on his head. I couldn’t sit for a week after that. It was worth it though. Who knew that there was such a thing!? I have to know how it was made. Perhaps there is some small bit of the stuff left in the vial...?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A new Laboratory!

Today is the day I have finished my automated laboratory! Master Bo has given me a dozen of his sturdiest assembly arms to do the mixing and dispensing in the lab to cut down on the number of mixing m

Hello Again!

I’ll bet that you’re wondering how I lost my arm. You know what? Me, too! I would love to know what I did to earn this fabulous new arm. Little Bo has outdone himself this time. To be perfectly honest

The Beauty Market

~1466 Stella and I have attempted to break into the beautification market. The results have been… scathing. Stella’s line of automated primping products have thus far proven to be every bit as dangero

bottom of page